Liberia: Former First-Lady Demands Money


By Edwin G. Genoway, Jr

Source: The New Dawn Liberia

Former first-lady of Liberia Madam Nancy Doe

The former first-lady of Liberia Madam Nancy Doe has called on President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and the Central Bank of Liberia to give her money deposited by her husband Dr. Samuel K. Doe while he was President of the Republic of Liberia.
Madam Nancy Doe said her husband deposited a little over 4million United States Dollars on March 4, 1985 in the National Bank of Liberia now Central Bank of Liberia or CBL.

She said her husband money in the bank is for his family and is to be managed by her. The former first-lady said since end of the civil war, she has been denied her right to take the money.

She said that president Sirleaf has told her on many occasions that she (President Sirleaf) was going to make it possible for the money to be delivered to the Doe family, but to no avail.

Madam Doe noted that she was encouraged by President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf to come home from exile, adding that the president promised to pension her, something she has not done.

“The president said she was going to pension me, because of the work I did for the Liberian people. I served my people for many years and up to now I have not been pension by the government, why?” she asked.

According to Mrs. Doe, people are taking advantage of her because she is illiterate and native and at the same time taking away her husband properties left for his family. Madam Doe however called on government and the Central Bank to produce her money to enable her fight those taking her properties in court.

”I need my money and my pension, I called on human rights groups and the International Community to come to my aid and make the government or the Central Bank to give my money, my children need to go to school and take care of myself, am a former first-lady people should not expect me to be begging on the streets of Monrovia,” she exerted.

Leave a Reply

